You are here: Home india
ocument Actions

Association for Computing Machinery


Advancing Computing as a Science and Profession

Hotel Taj Residency, Bangalore

Thursday, January 21, 2010

ACM India Launch Event

ACM India Council

Anand Deshpande, Persistent Systems (Co-Chair)

P. J. Narayanan, IIIT, Hyderabad (Co-Cair)

Sanjeev K. Aggarwal, IIT Kanpur

P. Anandan, Microsoft Research India

M. Balakrishnan, IIT, Delhi

Vivek Balaraman, Cognizant Research and Development,

Partha Chakrabarti, IIT, Kharagpur

Subu Goparaju, SETLabs, Infosys Technologies

Pankaj Jalote, Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, Delhi

Mathai Joseph, Tata Consultancy Services and ACM Council

K. Ananth Krishnan, Tata Consultancy Services

C. Mohan, Fellow, IBM Almaden Research Center

Prithwis Mukerjee, Vinod Gupta School of Management, IIT, Kharagpur

Madhavan Mukund, Chennai Mathematical Institute

Girija Narlikar, Bell Labs, Mumbai

Srinivas Padmanabhuni, Chair, ACM Bangalore Chapter and SETLabs, Infosys Technologies

Krithi Ramamritham, IIT, Bombay

S. Sadagopan, IIIT, Bangalore

ACM, the world's largest educational and scientific computing society is formally launching in India.  Mark your calendars for the ACM India Launch Event on Thursday, January 21, 2010 in Bangalore. It will be held at the Hotel Taj Residency, Bangalore from 9:30 to 17:30. It is co-located with Compute 2010, ACM Bangalore Conference


9:30-10:00: Welcome, introduction

Dr. Anand Deshpande. Co-Chair, ACM India
Prof Dame Wendy Hall, FRS. President, ACM
Dr. John White CEO, ACM

10:00-10:30: Invited Talk 1.

Dr. Rick Rashid (Senior VP, Microsoft)

The Role of Basic Research in Industry and Society”

10:30-11:30 Invited Talk 2

Prof Barbara Liskov (MIT), Turing Award, 2008

The Power of Abstraction

11:30-12:00: Tea break

12:00-13:00: Invited Talk 3

Prof Raj Reddy (CMU), Turing Award, 1994

To Err is Human. Computational Limits to Human Thinking:
Implications for the Design of Human Centered Interfaces

13:00-14:30 PM: Lunch

14:30-15:30: Invited Talk 5

Sir Tony Hoare, FRS (Microsoft Research), Turing Award, 1980

The International Verified Software Initiative

15:30-16:00: Tea break

16:00-17:15: Panel Discussion

What's Holding up Computer Science Research in India?
Lead speakers:

P Venkat Rangan (Amrita Univ), ACM Fellow

Vijay Bhatkar (ETH Research), ACM Fellow

Rajeev Rastogi (Yahoo Research)

Kris Gopalakrishnan (Infosys)

Panel Moderator: Dr Mathai Joseph. (Advisor, TCS), ACM Council

17:15-17:30 PM Closing Session

Announcements about future ACM India Events

Prof P.J. Narayanan. Co-Chair, ACM India

Planning to attend? Read the information to the registered and invited participants

We encourage you to become members of the ACM.

For more information on ACM India contact:

Or, reach us through LinkedIn: