ACM-W India

ACM-W India seeks to take forward the task of the ACM community, but with a particular focus on the empowerment of women in computing in India.

ACM-W supports, celebrates, and advocates internationally for the full engagement of women in all aspects of the computing field, providing a wide range of programs and services to ACM members and working in the larger community to advance the contributions of technical women. ACM-W Student Chapters are created to help recruit and retain students in computing programs. Professional Chapter-sponsored activities educate women about careers in computing and provide networking opportunities.

ACM-W India aims to provide social and professional support for women in computing, and its proposed activities include:

  • Facilitate technical growth of women by organizing invited lectures, seminars, workshops and informal meetings
  • Provide a platform for the sharing of information, resources, ideas and experiences
  • Support women in their professional career growth and help them to face the challenges in their work environment
  • Encourage them to participate in computer-related studies and research

ACM-W India's goal would be to also promote computer literacy, particularly in rural India, with the objective of empowering underprivileged women and children, to enable them to be independent and self-reliant.

ACM-W India Executive Council (July 2019-June 2021)
Chair: Heena Timani, Independent Consultant
Vice Chair: Nutan Limaye, Indian Institute of Technology, Bombay
Secretary: Rituparna Chaki, University of Calcutta, Kolkata

Tejaswini Apte, Symbiosis Institute of Computer Studies and Research, Pune (July 2019-June 2023)
Chitra Babu, SSN College of Engineering, Chennai (July 2019-June 2023)
Kalika Bali, Microsoft Research India, Bengaluru (July 2017-June 2021)
Maushumi Barooah, Assam College of Engineering, Guwahati (July 2017-June 2021)
Lipika Dey, TCS Research, Delhi & Kolkata (July 2019-June 2023)
Gunjan Lal, Adobe Systems, Noida (July 2017-June 2021)
Neeldhara Misra, IIT Gandhinagar (July 2019-June 2023)

Past Chair: Arati M. Dixit, Independent Consultant, Pune


ACM-W India Events

Read about Hackathons, Celebrations, Summer Schools and more events ACM-W India hosts throughout the year.

  • ACM-W India Committee

      Heena Timani
      Nutan Limaye
    Secretary/ Treasurer
      Rituparna Chaki
      Tejaswini Apte
    Chitra  Babu
      Kalika  Bali  
    Maushumi  Barooah
      Lipika  Dey
      Gunjan  Lal
      Neeldhara  Misra
    Past Chairperson
      Arati Dixit

Heena Timani

ACM-W India Executive Council Chair Heena Timani was Chair and Founder/Vice-Chair of the ACM Ahmedabad Professional Chapter. She was also a faculty sponsor of the ACM-W chapter at Ahmedabad University. She was a member of the ACM-W India Executive Council from 2017 to 2019. She is an independent consultant, business analyst and academic advisor. Her specialization is Bayesian inference and Applications of Bayesian networks in business intelligence and analytics. She is actively involved in supporting and organizing computing events for women in India under ACM-W.

Heena Timani